Lola Heritage



2020/21 SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series

Round 4 The Paul Fahey Legends of Speed meeting
Hampton Downs
Northern Waikato
March 20-21 2021


Well, that – indeed – was a turn up for the books. Just when defending SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series title holder Michael Collins (Leda GM1) looked like wrapping up this season’s series in style former regular Grant Martin digs his Talon MR1/A ‘out of the shed,’ qualifies second then leads the first race at the final round from start-to-finish.

Martin got the jump on pole sitter Michael Collins when the starter held the lights till the very last second, and try as he might the young Christchurch ace could not find a way past until the final lap when he drew alongside as the pair entered the downhill hairpin – only to have one of his car’s half (drive) shafts let go at the exact same point, leaving Collins stranded at the side of the track and Martin to complete the final lap unchallenged.

“Having a fresh set of tyres (bought for the same meeting last year but never used when that meeting was initially postponed then cancelled outright due to the COVID-19 Coronavirus ) obviously helped. That,” said Martin,” and being lucky to actually be able to still see the start lights go out from my side of the grid.”

Codie Banks and fellow Lola T332 driver Kevin Ingram were the next pair home, though fourth quickest qualifier David Banks (Codie’s father) didn’t make the grid thanks to an issue with his Talon MR1’s crown and pinion.

On a charge meanwhile and very happy to make it as far forward as fourth place was Auckland ace Glenn Richards (Lola T400) who was relegated to start the race from P10 on the gird for a spin in the class qualifying session earlier in the day.

Guest driver Tom Alexander made a big impression in that session, setting the eight quickest lap time in the Class A (Pre ’71) McLaren M10B (400-08) originally raced in South Africa by Kipp Ackerman and recently acquired by local man Terry Honey.

Unfortunately a small engine bay oil fire saw the car returned to the F5000 pit on the back of a rescue truck it and did not make it back to the grid for the race.

Enjoying a trouble-free debut in his newly-acquired ex-Ian Riley Lola T332 was long-time tin-top man Bruce Kett whose measured approach saw him qualify 16th but finish the race in 11th place.

Finally, Class A of pre’71 cars was again dominated by a quick and consistent Frank Karl (McLaren M10B). The SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Serries is organised and run with the support of sponsors SAS Autoparts, MSC, NZ Express Transport, Bonney's Specialised Bulk Transport, Mobil Lubricants, Pacifica, Avon Tyres, Webdesign and Exide Batteries.

1. Michael Collins (Leda GM1) 1:01.351
2. Grant Martin (Talon MR1/A) 1:01.699
3. Codie Banks (Lola T332) 1:02.728
4. David Banks (Talon MR1) 1:02.843
5. Kevin Ingram (Lola T332) 1:03.656
6. Anna Collins (Leda LT27) 1:03.854
7. Brett Willis (Lola T332 1:03.968
8. Tom Alexander (McLaren M10B) 1:03.971
9. Glenn Richards (Lola T400) 1:04.349
10. Shayne Windelburn (Lola T400) 1:06.636
11. Tim Rush (McLaren M22) 1:08.426
12. Russell Greer (Lola T332) 1:08.506
13. Frank Karl (McLaren M10B) 1:08.529
14. Tony Roberts (McLaren M10A) 1:11.440
15. Toby Annabell (McLaren M10B) 1:11.843
16. Bruce Kett (Lola T332) 1:12.802
17. Chris Watson (Gardos) 1:23.520

Race 1 (Sat 8 laps)
1. Grant Martin (Talon MR1/A) 8:22.228
2. Codie Banks (Lola T332) +6.923
3. Kevin Ingram (Lola T332) +13.551
4. Glenn Richards (Lola T400) +21.246
5. Brett Willis (Lola T332) +22.576
6. Anna Collins (Leda LT27) +22.912
7. Shayne Windelburn (Lola T400) +30.779
8. Tim Rush (McLaren M22) +42.065
9. Frank Karl (McLaren M10B +51.612
10. Tony Roberts (McLaren M10A) +53.719
11. Bruce Kett (Lola T332) +62:101
12. Toby Annabell (McLaren M10B) +1 lap
13. Chris Watson (Gardos) +1 lap
DNF. Michael Collins 7 laps; Russell Greer 6 laps